Woah, slow it down a bit…

14 comments
Lodging, Travel

Detox begins.  My personal detox, in addition to being a recovery from the debacle that was my last night in Portland, is about getting some time away from… well pretty much everything.  Detox from too much food, alcohol, technology, big-cities, high-stress lifestyle, and constant connectedness.  What better place to do this than 9 miles outside of the sleepy burg that is Jacksonville, Oregon?

So, the couchsurfing continues.  However, when your couch is a private room, it’s not really roughing it:

WP_000479

When I tell people that I will be staying outside of Jacksonville, what I really mean is I’m staying at the end of a dirt road, in the middle of trees, dirt and not a lot else.

You know you aren’t in Kansas anymore when you pass signs like this one:

WP_000482

Staying at D&J’s (no affiliation with the housemasters D+J) means a few things:

  • No cell service.
  • Clean, clear air and unpopulated places to run or walk in.
  • Dial-up internet service (yes, that still exists.  Yes, it is actually WORSE than you are imagining)

However, this affords me time to focus on a number of goals I have for this adventure:

  • Writing.  Not just this blog, but also novels and some short stageplays.
  • Drawing.  I used to draw incessantly.  Once I “went corporate”, all that stopped.  Do I still have any skills in this?  Will I still enjoy doing it?
  • Eating right.  I have learned a lot about the right foods to eat in the last few years.  However, in my high stress, fast-paced life I frequently succumbed to eating things that I knew were terrible for me.  And you have only to reference my Portland catastrophe for some very recent evidence.
  • Exercise.  I have run a marathon before, but I didn’t run it well.  I’ve always carried too much fat and not enough lean muscle.  Between eating right, exercise, and low stress, perhaps I can change that.

So, lofty goals.  These are things that people often work their whole life at, not things that you figure out in one week spent in the rogue valley.  The point for me is to begin some good habits that I can carry with me on my travels.  Six months into the adventure I hope to see a change in many ways.

However, I anticipate there will still be the occasional food and drink catastrophe along the way.  After all, I believe in the saying “everything in moderation.  Even moderation”.

14 thoughts on “Woah, slow it down a bit…”

  1. Tara says:

    Make sure to post some of your drawings! I can’t wait to see them. Thank you again for the box of art supplies – it even filled a few immediate needs!

    • 98? Please. This is the modern era, now. It’s all XP! Woah, hold on to your operating systems, people!

      • Kamaya says:

        XP??? Good thing I was sitting down when I read that! I’ll be sure to look for them on facebook in about 10 years.

  2. Wait a minute. I snacked at your house growing up and hardtack and veggie sticks were the order of the day. Didn’t you learn anything about eating well from your mother? (speaking in an eerie voice) “You must remember your youth. You must remember….”

    • True, true. I think for 20 years I basically lived out a life eating all the horrible things I didn’t get growing up. Now I’m coming back to the things my mom was right about all along.

  3. Shane says:

    “I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.”—Hey I read this story already. 😉

      • Alex Zambelli says:

        “The light which puts out our eyes is darkness to us. Only that day dawns to which we are awake. There is more day to dawn. The sun is but a morning star. And on the morrow there shall be tacos, but not the Taco Bell kind, because those haven’t been invented yet and they are disgusting. Disgustingly delicious, that is.”

Hey, you trippin or what?

