Amsterdam wanderings

9 comments
Lodging, Travel

Okay kids, we’ve got a lot to go over, and all of it in pictures. Comfy? Good, we’ll dive right in.

In my last post I kind of laid into the Dutch language a bit. I feel I should expound upon that some. For instance, many of words are super easy and logical.  For example, here’s a store that sells really old things:

WP_20130704_011

Actually makes much more sense than the English spelling, which should be pronounced “Antikweh”?

Heck, even whole phrases are pretty easy to figure out:

WP_20130706_015

If you plug this phrase into Google Translate, it comes back with “Really, Einstein? Really?”

And once you can figure out phrases, every day directions start to become clear, such as #1 and #4 here.

WP_20130707_003

“Steek da kaart een da doooor” I’m basically a native speaker already.

However, I still find some signage either interesting, frightening, or just plain noteworthy. Examples:

WP_20130707_013

Warning: bongos, trumpets, loudspeakers and… covered picnic tables. You really gotta watch that last one… it’s always the quiet ones.

WP_20130705_001

Rather… aggressively named, no?

WP_20130707_014

So, the police will spray you with their DNA. I’m not really sure what that entails, but no situation I can imagine ends well.

WP_20130706_005

I don’t know what this means. And I don’t want to know. It’s just SO MUCH FUN TO SAY.

So let me just conclude with the language here to point out that much of the words seem to have a heavy basis in both English and German, and I would assert that if you just walk around speaking English, while pretending to be the Swedish Chef who is trying to sound German, you’ll basically sound like a local. You can probably get by that way for a couple weeks, easy.

Now, most of my travel has been stumping around in my moonboot. This will change soon, but more on that later. I took time to visit the museum district, and take in the local sculptures. Impressive stuff.

WP_20130704_010

Oh, your town has sculptures? Isn’t that quaint. We’ve got giant freaking nails, twisted around each other, then COVERED IN PINK TIN FOIL AND FLOATING IN WATER. That’s right.

WP_20130703_012

And there’s more where that came from.

WP_20130703_001

More sculpture. Like this piece, which is symbolic of the artists desire to get paid.

WP_20130703_004

And this one of “reclining woman”

WP_20130703_009

Followed quickly by “reclining, bisected, Loch Ness Monster”

Along with the sculptures, there’s an interactive art / water fountain that was fun to watch for a while:

WP_20130703_007

OMG! You’re all soaked!

WP_20130703_005

Kidding! You’re actually just a designer’s play-thing. Dance, my monkeys, dance!

Since I was already in the museum district, I had to stop by the Van Gogh museum. Now, I haven’t really been a big fan of his before. I have to say that this trip changed that. And actually, I have to blame a lot of my new-found appreciation on a graphic novel I read in their gift store:

Vincent-cover

This tells the story of his decision to become an artist, and the mere ten years he spent devoted to it before going mad and dying. Awesome art, great story, highly recommended.

After that, exploring his works and especially seeing the chronology of his work and how it progressed over the short time span was really cool. Theoretically you weren’t supposed to take photos of the pictures, but people were doing that all over the place. I tried to be a good little tourist and just took pictures of the building and surroundings.

WP_20130704_003

View from inside Van Gogh museum.

WP_20130704_004 (1)

View from inside, OF the inside of the Van Gogh Museum.

WP_20130704_008

Massive park outside of the museum.

Moving on, you will invariable run into the Flower Market:

WP_20130703_015

They take their flowers seriously in Amsterdam. There’s an entire market devoted to flowers.

WP_20130704_016

Flower market

WP_20130704_018

What can you buy there? Oh just about any bulb imaginable.

WP_20130704_019

Seriously. Any bulb. Except maybe a light bulb.

WP_20130704_017

Oh, standard flowers aren’t your thing? How about the most colorful cacti this side of Arizona? Yep.

You can literally spend days just walking around, and especially in summer, you’ll constantly be running into new things as they pop up and change day-to-day.

WP_20130705_002

Book fair out of nowhere. The next day this become an art show.

WP_20130705_004

filled with the classics.

WP_20130705_003

…and more classics.

WP_20130706_002

Random Thai festival out of nowhere!

And then there are things that are there every day, but still awesome to stumble across:

WP_20130706_009

Some of the coolest stencil art. Covers an entire block.

WP_20130706_010

It’s awesome all the way down.

WP_20130704_029

Rembrandt is, like, at least twice the size of all these soldiers. He’s gonna deliver a mighty whuppin.

WP_20130704_020

Soccer (err. sorry, “football”, or “futbal”) + cage match + street attraction. Good times.

WP_20130705_007

Beautiful, ancient architecture. Not necessarily straight though. They didn’t invent rulers until later.

As you walk around, you also notice that not only are flowers taken seriously here, but Ice cream is as well.  This is an attitude I can get behind.  The most ostentatious local example of this is the Magnum Ice Cream Bar Shop, where you can decorate your own Magnum bar with your choice of a wealth of toppings.

WP_20130704_022

False advertising: jewels and gold filigree were not topping options.

WP_20130704_023

Ever wonder what bulk nougat looks like? It’s the bowl closest to you.

Now, the people in front of me were choosing safe bets like “marshmallows, coconut and caramelized sugar” or “strawberry sugar, crumbled cookies, and chocolate chips”. Please. Amateurs.

I stepped up and proudly announced my concoction would be the recipient of:
– crushed pistachios: a nutty compliment to the sweetness of the ice cream and chocolate shell.
– Goji berries: add something chewy and tart to the mixture
– Sea salt. At which the lady exclaimed: “oh, gosh, feeling adventurous!” Then she had to search for the salt bowl, leaving me to suspect I am the first to actually order salt. She asked me before assembling the whole thing if I was serious about the sea salt. I nodded gravely.

I don’t joke around where ice cream is concerned.

WP_20130704_024

Assembling my work of genius.

WP_20130704_028

Not to put too fine a point on it, but I pretty much hit it out of the park on the first try.

So, full of ice cream (not a day has passed without sampling the local wares), more wandering is to be done. You can’t avoid the canals here, and that’s a good thing. In addition, on the weekend, so long as the weather holds, it sees like the entire town comes out to the center.

WP_20130706_014

On a sunny day, this town is pretty hard to beat.

WP_20130706_013

Pretty much everyone comes out to play.

WP_20130706_004

Which means every square inch of space gets filled with bikes and scooters.

Now, I’ve mentioned bikes a few times. However, I discovered not all bikes are created equal here. For example, since bikes are such an intrinsic part of life here, people have evolved the bike to be a carrier of things. They do this by combining a bike and a wheel barrow.

WP_20130707_011

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you: the cyclebarrel.

Anyway, I resume my ambulation with the canals:

WP_20130704_013

Seriously. The canals here are just fabulous.

WP_20130704_014

Yah for pedal boats! In the canals! At this speed you should be finished with your tour by autumn!

WP_20130704_001

Betcha didn’t expect another canal shot, did ya?

I randomly stumbled on a huge park, which took me about 40 minutes to walk from one end to the other. Since it was a sunny day, pretty much every part of the grass was full of people sun bathing, bbq-ing, or just chilling. This pictures doesn’t do justice to the sheer mob of people at the park.

WP_20130707_005

acres and acres of park, covered with humanity.

But even as crowded as it was, the park was large enough, and diverse enough, to offer places that somehow had no people.

WP_20130707_012

peace amid chaos.

near the center of the park, there was a bandstand set up, and I got to watch what I assume is a local band (Cirque Valentin) put on a show:

WP_20130707_009

A mix between punk, rock, and manga

WP_20130707_010

synchronized dancing! There’s nothing this group can’t do!

Now, after all my days of wandering, I’m pretty much in love with the city.  What I’m NOT in love with, however, is the hostels here.  I suppose I’m spoiled by my experiences in Spain, but each hostel I’ve been to here has been more hurried and impersonal, and doesn’t lend itself to the cool communal atmosphere I experienced in Spain.  Plus, they are so busy that I was having to move almost every day, which was getting old.

So, I’ve splurged on a hotel room now.  And boy did I forget how nice it was to just have your own room.  Plus I have a balcony with a view.  Life is good.

WP_20130707_004

I have a view of a canal. Your hotel is inferior.

9 thoughts on “Amsterdam wanderings”

  1. Kate Vanover says:

    If you are interested in linguistics at all, there’s a cool Podcast I’ve been listening to called “History of English” (link: http://historyofenglishpodcast.com/), which could probably tell you better than I could how close Dutch and English really are to one another!

    The ice cream looked awesome, I was’t sure about the berries, but all the rest of it sounded PERFECT. But was it just vanilla inside the chocolate? Were there options?? THE READERSHIP WANTS TO KNOW!

    • Sadly you have no choice about the interior of this concoction. But as any good spiritual leader will tell you, it’s what is on the outside that matters.

  2. Alex Zambelli says:

    If you have a chance, try to check out some of the villages outside of Amsterdam, such as Volendam, Edam and Monnickendam. I promise you will see so many picturesque sights that your eyeballs may literally start to bleed by the end of it.

    Disclaimer: I am not a medical doctor and cannot be held responsible for profuse eyeball bleeding due to excellent travel advice.

  3. Pingback: Defining Amsterdam | midlifetrippin

Hey, you trippin or what?

